Thoughts on Diamond Debut Tix

Have you guys ever seen this kind of card before? I haven’t seen it mentioned in any of the blogs so I’ll take my crack at it. It’s basically a ticket stub that’s framed into a card. The ticket is from the debut of that player and is numbered to 20 I believe. I’m not sure the value of these as there hasn’t been many that sold, but I recently came upon a Lincecum one on eBay that’s selling. This comes as an insert from the Topps ’52 remakes. I feel like this is just another gimmick along with hair and the like. Basically, these are supposed to be artifacts in the future as they are a part of baseball history if the guy actually turns out to be any good. what’s next? Framed, chewed sunflower seeds? Maybe some gum pressed between two plates and framed, or perhaps some fingernail clippings of your favorite player. What the hell Topps?! They took a ticket that basically 39,980 other people had and framed it. Look at the size of the picture of the player. He’s the freaking size of a tic tac. Stop doing dumb things.

Regardless, if it sells for $5, I will buy it haha (because I’m dumb). Anymore and it is not worth my money. By the way, the only one I found to sell was an Alex Gordon one for $27 + $3 shipping = $30 total. I would not pay $30 for a stupid framed ticket of their debut. Maybe if they autographed the ticket, then they would be on to something…autographed and also the ticket was made in silk print…and framed with an Allen & Ginter frame…and made of 24k gold…then maybe.

6 Responses to “Thoughts on Diamond Debut Tix”

  1. I have been eying up a Hamilton card like that for quite a while, but the seller wants more than I think it is worth. He prerogative, I suppose. If one came up at auction, I’d definitely be in the mix for it. I think it would be cool to have the ticket from Hamilton’s debut game, and a card made with the ticket would serve just as well. Likely easier to store as well.

    Everyone values things differently – I’d be all over the Hamilton at $30. πŸ™‚

  2. It is definitely something nice to have, but comeon Topps, wouldn’t you think it’d be nicer if they at least got it autographed? I mean it’s only #’d to 20. BTW, that Lincecum auction is now at $20.

  3. I like it better than piece of pants worn on a day he never pitched or a chip off of a bat. It makes for a neat little piece of history.

  4. These are pretty lame in my opinion…I do agree with aybayz though, these things definitely should have been autographed.

  5. I hadn’t heard of these before, but I think they’re pretty cool! It’s too bad that Topps isn’t doing the ’52 Rookies set this year, so there will be no Longoria ticket card for me.

    I just had an idea – how about a Josh Hamilton snorted piece of cocaine on a card? Sorry – just had to share that one πŸ™‚

  6. I think they’re pretty cool. Would’ve been nice if they were autographed, but not everything I collect is autographed. I tried to get in on the Andy LaRoche version of this, but was outbid by a lot. It sold for 20-something, way more than I was willing to pay.

Leave a Reply

