Organizing Team Cards

By now, I have a ton of Giants cards and I’m not sure how to organize them. Organizing a single player is easy as I do it by year, followed by product brand in alphabetical order followed by card paralell type. I have no experience organizing and sifting through hundreds of team cards. Any suggestions?

4 Responses to “Organizing Team Cards”

  1. Admittedly, my Braves collection is a extremely disorganized, but there’s how I do it:

    All Topps (1951-2008) team sets go in pages. All Vintage cards (cards older than 1980 and older oddballs) also go in a binder.

    Non-Topps Team sets go in a small plastic case or team bag.

    Legit Stars are separated alphabetically by name, put in toploaders or sleeves and organized in 3 monster boxes. These are guys ranging from Adam LaRoche and Mark Lemke to Greg Maddux and Hank Aaron.

    Lesser players I try to put in their own monster box by alphabetical order. These are kind of a mess though.

    Chipper Jones cards are all in toploaders (even the base cards) and fill up most of a 3200 count box.

  2. I collect Phillies and (since 1995) Astros. I put all the cards in binders. I arrange them by year alphabetically by player name, then by set name. The Phillies are separated from the Astros in different binders.

    I also collect a number of different players. These go in binders, each player in year and set order.

    I always have a problem when a player I collect gets traded to either the Phillies or Astros. For example, I collect Jim Thome. After years with the Indians, he spent three seasons with the Phillies. I put any card with him in a Phillies uniform in the Phillies binders. His White Sox cards went into his own binder again.

  3. I started organizing my Reds cards several months ago. Admittedly, I don’t have as much as most other team collectors because I used to just collect anything and everything…Reds or not. When I started pulling the Reds out separately, I decided to organize by year, then brand, then player. So all the cards from 1990 Donruss are grouped together, then 1990 Fleer, then 1990 Score, Topps, Upper Deck, and so on.

  4. “organize by year, then brand, then player. So all the cards from 1990 Donruss are grouped together, then 1990 Fleer, then 1990 Score, Topps, Upper Deck, and so on.”

    That’s pretty much how I do it too.

Leave a Reply

