Thank You Padrographs!

This brand new card blog deserves a spotlight and credit goes out to Rod from Padrographs, which is long overdue. Rod first contacted me a while back looking for a trading partner for some autographed Padres cards. He is a collector of only autographed Padres cards, which is a very interesting collecting theme. Unfortunately, baesball season just ended and I went to my last Padres game so I probably won’t be able to get my hands on anything autographed until next season; however, Rod went out of his way to send me cards anyway, with no expectations of anything in return. He helped me out with a few 2008 Allen & Ginter base cards a while back to round out my collection and just today, I received an unexpected package in the mail from him. I received two more unique Lincecum cards that I don’t have to add to my collection. One is a base from Baseball Heroes and the other is a rookie card from Upper Deck MLB Rookie of the Month. He also sent a Fred Lewis MLB Rookie of the Month card as well. Before I go forward, I must again express my hatred of Baesball Heroes. Seriously?! 10 different parallel colors? And they don’t just stop there, there are different shades of colors as well. And to add to the confusion, some colors are numbered, while others aren’t. Seriously Upper Deck – stop with the bajillion color parallels (that goes for Masterpieces too); it’s annoying and for the most part, I don’t think the majority of collectors enjoy it.

Anywho, be sure to check out Rod’s card blog (link above and also to the right on my blogroll). Padrographs is a great site that documents his autographed Padres cards from Abner to Zimmer and each card has a story behind it. It’s very well written and organized. And if you’re reading this Rod, I will be sure to try to get some Padres autographs when the season starts up again.

I also picked up probably my last Lincecum card off eBay for a while – UD SP Legendary Cuts Destination Stardom Memorabilia. I’ve been eyeing this card for a while and finally got it for $6, which isn’t too bad considering it’s a Lincecum jersey card and also one that I don’t have. My Lincecum collection is now up to 48 different cards. I am almost at the half century mark. Greg over at Night Owl Cards also picked up two rookie cards for me from a recent card show that he went to. It’s greatly appreciated because not only does he help me raise my collection to 50 cards, but he adds to the 2007 card set. For some reason, most of my Lincecum cards are from 2008 and I’m still very lacking in his 2007 rookie cards. I also wanted to try to get some of his 2006 cards, which are limited to TriStar.

2 Responses to “Thank You Padrographs!”

  1. Thanks Bailey for the shout out.

  2. I’m right with you on the Baseball Heroes. How many suckers are trying to collect every color of everyone? Probably more than I’d guess.

Leave a Reply

