Bargain Deals: Tristar Prospects Plus Protential

Why are Sundays awesome? Because people are out watching football or going to church and busy doing other things rather than bidding on things on eBay. This gives bargain hunters like me a chance to swoop in on great deals on cards. Last Sunday, I was lucky enough to buy this 2006 Tristar card of Tim. How much did I get for it? Under $6. Tack on shipping and the whole deal was under $10. What’s great about this card is that it’s a patch from when he was on the Salem-Keizer Volcanoes, the Giants’ minor league team. What’s even crazier is that he only played two games for the Volcanoes with 4.0 innings pitched. He allowed one hit and struck out 10 in those four innings. Yes, I do realize that he struck out 10 of the 13 batters he faced. That is 2.5 strikeouts every inning. How’s that for a minor league debut? After that, he went to the Single-A affiliate, San Jose Giants, where he further mowed down helpless minor leaguers. So basically, this game-used patch card is the VERY first uniform that Tim wore in his professional debut. That is a pretty nice piece of history on the eve of his first Cy Young. (God, I’m not going to jinx it, am I? I’m just confident).

I really wonder how trusty Tristar is since a lot of people don’t bother buying their cards. But I’m guessing it’s pretty authentic since they do have an exclusive contract with Minor League Baseball. What else do I like about this card? It’s very thick (that’s what she said). What’s very strange about this card? This is what the back says: “You have just received an authentic Game-Used Patch & Authentic Autograph signed by Tim Lincecum. Tristar expressly guarantees the authenticity of the patch & autograph that appears on the front. Enjoy your authentic Game-Used trading card.”

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t see an autograph signature on the front of this card, do you? In fact, I haven’t even seen an autographed patch version of this card. Now this has got me thinking if this card has been doctored (which I doubt) or if Tristar is just too damn lazy to change the print plate for the back of cards so that they’re specific for each card. Card companies can be so lazy – I hope the latter is the case. The collection count is now at 58 different and unique Lincecum cards with two more on the way.

I also received a bunch of packages from fellow bloggers Eric and Adam from Thoughts and Sox. It’s pretty ironic because they’re Yankees and Red Sox collectors respectively. Thanks for the cards guys, I am going to put together packages for you guys by the end of the week, but again, have low expectations. A lot of my cards are at another location so I need to pick them up over Christmas and put together more packages for the coming year. As for trades, I think I’m going to hold off on any further Giants card trades. I have more cards than I know what to do with and they’re overflowing everywhere on my desk. I have yet to figure out a good way to organize everything so until then, I am limiting trades to just Lincecum and Bumgarner cards. I’ve been thinking of expanding to collecting Madison Bumgarner for a while. I think he’s the second coming of Timmy. When they do come out, I also want to collect Buster Posey and also Tim Alderson (he only has a few cards out currently).

2 Responses to “Bargain Deals: Tristar Prospects Plus Protential”

  1. Speaking of the S-K Volcanoes, I saw them on the 4th of July, and Connor Gilaspie was in the lineup. Needless to say I was surprised to see him pinch-hitting against the Dodgers a couple of months later.

  2. I think we were all surprised to see him in the Majors. I’m not exactly sure the point of bringing him up so early – he already burned through one option.

Leave a Reply

