A Sweet Mailday from Fielder’s Choice Baseball Blog

I’m back! I hope everyone enjoyed the nice Thanksgiving break, but it’s time to get back to writing real entries rather than posting crazy “Make a Caption for Timmy” entries. As I’ve mentioned before, I have pretty much stopped looking on eBay for any Lincecum cards lately because of the surge in prices since his Cy Young Award. Luckily, I got a package from Dave over at Fielder’s Choice Baseball Blog today. I was quite elated because I wasn’t really expecting anything, but I’m sure as all of you know, Dave is a great blogger/trader/generous collector/hobbyist. I’m guessing it was for that Mattingly card I sent him a couple weeks ago. I was even more surprised by what was inside! Let’s take a peak:

Two more cards to round out the 2008 year! The first one is from 2008 UD Masterpieces. I love the design of these cards. I like them just as much as Allen & Ginter. I can’t wait to get some of those framed parallels! (Yes, I know I’m a hypocrite because I said I hate parallels, but I will make an exception in this case because the frames make the cards really stand out). The second card is from 2008 UD Timeline. Nice picture with Timmy showing off his unruly hair and also the Giants’ 50th anniversary patch commemorating their move to San Francisco. Moving on to the next two cards:

tim-alderson-auto noah-lowry-auto

Two autographs of Giants pitchers! I really love the first one. Tim Alderson is a rising star and had a great season in the minors this season for the San Jose Giants (the Giants high-A affiliate). He was drafted in the same class in 2007 as Madison Bumgarner, but was more polished. He finished this year with a 13-4 record with a 2.79 ERA. He is projected to be a 3 or 4 spot pitcher. The McCovey Chronicles Giants blog recently had a community prospect list poll, which ranked Alderson as the #3 prospect in the farm, behind only Buster Posey (#2) and Madison Bumgarner (#1).

The autograph card is of Noah Lowry. I guess this autograph card was the bane of Dave’s Masterpiece box breaks. He had two and now he bestowed one upon me. I never really liked Lowry that much because he didn’t have overpowering stuff, but he did always seem to get guys out. He led the Giants in wins in 2007 with a 14-8 record. He’s been out of the game with a rare forearm injury diagnosed as exertional compartment syndrome. Hopefully he can come back in 2009 to round out the Giants’ rotation. Why do I like this card? He has a really nice and neat autograph and even penned in his #51. The other reason? The jersey says Gigantes, which pays tribute to Cinco de Mayo.

There was one last card included in the package. Or should I say, there was a trio of cards? Take a look for yourself:

What is this?? I’m not exactly sure myself. I know it’s 2008 Topps Heritage, but why is it uncut? There’s no stats on the back. Instead, it says Topps Baseball Bubble Gum and advertises Heritage with Gum in every pack. Where did this card come from? If anyone could provide more information, that would be appreciated. It’s hard to organize the cards in the collection without categorizing where they came from. Regardless, I love it because it is another card to add to the collection. FYI, I am now up to 64 different and unique Lincecum cards in the collection. As you can see, I made a makeshift penny sleeve for the triple card by cutting up three penny sleeves and taping them together. Thanks again Dave!

2 Responses to “A Sweet Mailday from Fielder’s Choice Baseball Blog”

  1. You’re welcome! Yes, these cards are in return for the Mattingly card that is #/5 and the Cliff Floyd 1/1 printing plate that you sent me.

    The “uncut” card is an “advertising panel” from 2008 Topps Heritage. They are included in every hobby box as a box topper. I’ve just had it sitting around for months and thought you’d like it since it includes Lincecum. It took me a while to figure out how to mail it – it looks like it got to you safely though.

  2. Dave is incredibly generous, as are you.

Leave a Reply

