Shoe Sale!

I was looking at these the other day:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=280299156262

Not that I was going to buy them or even thinking about it. I just thought that it was a weird item to sell online, but in a way, I’m sort of surprised that it didn’t sell for more. Don’t baseball shoes in general cost more than $60? Unless you buy those cheap ones at Big 5. Anyway, I can’t imagine how someone might get these as a souvenir during spring training. A lot of kids will ask for a player’s batting gloves or a ball, maybe if they’re lucky, their cap or even a bat, but shoes? Weird. Maybe they’ll be a steal 50 years from now after Timmy’s career is long over. But for now, I don’t think I would want his shoes unless they made a UltraPro case for shoes (they probably do and I’ll probably eat those words).

3 Responses to “Shoe Sale!”

  1. I can’t see somebody getting shoes as a souvenir either… cracked bats, batting gloves or caps, sure. Maybe somebody went dumpster diving? Who knows?

    I really don’t think I’d want somebody’s game-used shoes, so that might be a factor keeping the price down.

  2. Get them and sell them to topps or Ud and they can cut them into little pieces and make a card out of them.

  3. There’s a guy who sets up at the monthly card show who has at least a dozen pairs of Bears and Packers shoes from training camp. He tries to get $150 a pair. He says at the end of camp he waits outside and asks everyone for their shoes and alot of guys give them to him. Who knows what else he asks for?

Leave a Reply

